Controlling fuel ignition speed and distance

Hello I’m new to TFD. Is there a way to control how fast fuel burns over distance? For example you have a 10 meter emitter and you want to light it and have it burn over 10 meters to a specific time. I’ve tried all the settings in the fuel channel as well as the Fuel Masking curve but I can’t figure it out. What I’m trying to do is have a logo (emitter) light on fire from the beginning to end but control the timing. Basically a write on effect. Am I better off using Fuel Masking with a UV mapped masked plane as an emitter vs a logo modeled with geometry?

If you are thinking of something like a fuel spill, for example a line of letters burns from the left to right or a split of fuel lights and races along it’s length, you have a few options.
One is to have fuel ignite based on temperature and then have a small emitter with temp act as the igniter, the fuel will burn and create heat which will ignite the unburnt fuel.
The other option is to make a animated texture on the object to be burning and emit from texture, a black and white mask, or you can even use an animated vertex may/
You could also ingiite anywhere on an object by using TP matterwaves to emit from the object static particles with fuel or burn. You can use all the TP tricks to direct those particles.

Hi Paul thanks for your reply. In regards to option one that you mentioned, that’s the setup I’m currently using. Is their a way to control the speed at which it ignites? I’m writing a logo in fire from right to left but I’m trying to time it to an exact amount or near amount of frames. Is that possible?

I was just about to try option number two as an approach seems like the best way to control things?

The particle technique sounds interesting.